PHOTO GALLERY witness the action


The first downhill race from the Malta Mountain Bike Association for 2016 which brought 19 riders to the location. The event was held in Wardija on one of Malta's fast tracks which found the riders exceeding 50k speeds over the rough and challenging terrain (view trail segment on Strava). The race was won by Jonathan Darmanin in the men's category and Gabriella Veneziani for the ladies category.

Majjistral park was the location for the third race of the 2016 XC season providing amazing scenery all round. Thirty plus mtb riders showed up to battle it out under the steaming, hot sun. For the Men's elite category, Maurice Formosa finished in first place making it three in a row for him this season. The sports category saw Dennis Dolci come in first, four minutes ahead of Paul Zarb and Wayne Schembri.

Going into the second race of the 2016 XC season with warm weather which challenged the stamina of all riders. A great turn out for the day with Maurice Formosa and Alex Gatt winning the men's categories for a second consecutive time making them the leaders of their categories, elite and sport respectively. Marie Claire Aquilina took first in the ladies challenging Danica Bonello Spiteri for the top spot in their category.

First race to kick off the Malta cross country race season for 2016. The event was brought to us by MMBA with Magri cycles as the main sponsor. Maurice Formosa won the men's elite category, while Alex Gatt won the sports and Danica Bonello Spiteri won the ladies.

Action packed race to close off the championship for the Wheel Wizard downhill races organised by Agones SFC. Third place saw Jonathan Darmanin take his first podium with Mark Zammit coming in at a close second to Damian Camilleri. Mark Zammit took the championship title.

Riding on the rocks on the outskirts of Mizieb. Not much of a gradient but the sharp rocks challenged the rider's technical skills as well as the mechanical durability of the bikes. Close podium finish with Damian Camilleri in first place, Victor Bajada in second and Darius Goodwin in third.